<<Prev Document

Texas Register

Next Document>>
AGENCY Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
ISSUE 05/26/2006
ACTION Miscellaneous

Notice of Public Meeting on June 29, 2006, in Dayton, Texas, Concerning the Proposed Cox Road Dump State Superfund Site

The purpose of the meeting is to obtain public input and information concerning the commission's proposal to delete the site from the state Superfund registry because the site has been accepted into the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Voluntary Cleanup Program.

The executive director (ED) of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ or commission) is issuing this public notice of intent to delete the Cox Road Dump state Superfund site (site) from its proposed-for-listing status on the state Superfund registry. The state registry is the list of state Superfund sites which may constitute an imminent and substantial endangerment to public health and safety or the environment due to a release or threatened release of hazardous substances into the environment. The commission is proposing this deletion because the site has been accepted into the TCEQ Voluntary Cleanup Program. This notice was also published in the Dayton News, Liberty Vindicator, and Cleveland Advocate on May 24, 2006.

The site was proposed for listing on the state Superfund registry in the February 10, 2006, issue of the Texas Register (31 TexReg 907). The site, including all land, structures, appurtenances, and other improvements, is located one mile north of FM 1413 on the east side of County Road 491 (Cox Road), Dayton, Liberty County, Texas. The geographic coordinates of the site are 29 degrees 58 minutes 30.84 seconds North latitude, 94 degrees 56 seconds 12.83 minutes West longitude. The site also includes any areas where hazardous substances have come to be located as a result, either directly or indirectly, of releases of hazardous substances from the site.

The site has been accepted into the TCEQ Voluntary Cleanup Program and is therefore eligible for deletion from the state registry as provided by 30 TAC §335.344(c).

The commission will hold a public meeting to receive comment on the proposed deletion of the site. This public meeting is not a contested case hearing under Texas Government Code, Chapter 2001. The public meeting is scheduled for 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, June 29, 2006, at the Dayton High School cafeteria, 3200 North Cleveland in Dayton, Texas.

All persons desiring to make comments may do so prior to or at the public meeting. All comments submitted prior to the public meeting must be received by 5:00 p.m. on June 28, 2006, and should be sent in writing to Geoffrey E. Meyer, Senior Project Manager, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, Remediation Division, MC 143, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087 or by facsimile to (512) 239-2450. The public comment period for this action will end at the close of the public meeting on June 29, 2006.

A portion of the record for this site is available for review during regular business hours at the Jones Public Library, 307 West Houston Street in Dayton, Texas, telephone (936) 258-7060. Copies of the complete public record file may be obtained during regular business hours at the commission's Records Management Center, Building E, First Floor, Records Customer Service, 12100 Park 35 Circle, Austin, Texas 78753, telephone (512) 239-2920. Photocopying of file information is subject to payment of a fee. Parking for persons with disabilities is available on the east side of Building D, convenient to access ramps that are between Buildings D and E.

Persons who have special communication or other accommodation needs who are planning to attend the meeting should contact the agency at (800) 633-9363. Requests should be made as far in advance as possible.

For further information regarding this meeting, please call Bruce McAnally, TCEQ Community Relations, at (800) 633-9363, extension 2141.


Stephanie Bergeron Perdue

Acting Deputy Director, Office of Legal Services

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

Filed: May 16, 2006

Next Page Previous Page