|(a) Each insurer, in calculating the fees established
by Texas Civil Statutes, Article 4413(37), §10, shall comply
with the following guidelines:
(1) The single statutory fee of $2.00 is payable on
each motor vehicle for which the insurer provides insurance coverage
during the calendar year regardless of the number of policy renewals;
(2) When more than one insurer provides coverage for
a motor vehicle during the calendar year, each insurer shall pay the
statutory fee for that vehicle.
(3) "Motor vehicle" as referred to in Texas Civil Statutes,
Article 4413(37), §10(2), means motor vehicle as defined by the
Insurance Code, Article 5.01(e). This definition shall be used when
calculating the fees under this section.
(4) All motor vehicle or automobile insurance policies
as defined by Insurance Code, Article 5.01(e), covering a motor vehicle
shall be assessed the $2.00 fee except mechanical breakdown policies,
garage liability policies, nonresident policies and policies providing
only non-ownership or hired auto coverages.
(b) The Texas Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention
Authority Assessment Report form and Instructions for the Computation
of the Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority Assessment
of the Comptroller of Public Accounts are adopted by reference. The
form and instructions are available from the Comptroller of Public
Accounts, Tax Administration, P.O. Box 149356, Austin, Texas 78714-9356.
Each insurer shall use this form and follow these instructions when
reporting assessment information to the Comptroller.
|Source Note: The provisions of this §57.48 adopted to be effective July 3, 1997, 22 TexReg 6052; amended to be effective March 11, 1998, 23 TexReg 2399; amended to be effective November 12, 1998, 23 TexReg 11411; amended to be effective July 11, 2007, 32 TexReg 4235; amended to be effective December 10, 2007, 32 TexReg 9132; amended to be effective February 12, 2012, 37 TexReg 501