<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 37PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS
PART 1TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
CHAPTER 35PRIVATE SECURITY
SUBCHAPTER QTRAINING
RULE §35.251Training Requirements

(a) Security and Personal Protection Officer Training Courses.

  (1) In accordance with Chapter 1702 of the Texas Occupations Code (the Act), the following training shall be required of all security and personal protection officers, as indicated:

    (A) Level II Training - The Level II Training Course shall consist of a minimum of 6 hours using the most recent version of the training manual prepared by and obtained from the department. The course shall be completed by all applicants for a security officer commission or for registration as a noncommissioned security. A certificate indicating completion of Level II training shall be submitted to the board within 14 days after the commencement of employment.

    (B) Level III Training - The Level III Training Course shall consist of a minimum of 40 hours using the most recent version of the training manual prepared by and obtained from the department. The course shall be completed by applicants for a security officer commission and a personal protection officer authorization. A certificate indicating completion of Level III Training shall be submitted to the board along with the application to register the individual. Applicants for either a security officer commission or a personal protection officer authorization who are full-time peace officers, certified by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education (TCLEOSE), may be exempted from the Level III training requirements upon submission to the bureau of a sworn affidavit attesting to the applicant's review of, and familiarity with the Act and the related administrative rules. Applicants for either a security officer commission or a personal protection officer authorization who have honorably retired as Texas peace officers within the preceding two years may be exempted from the Level III training requirements upon submission to the bureau of proof of their honorably retired status (in the form of documentation from the employing agency or the TCLEOSE), and of a sworn affidavit attesting to the applicant's review of, and familiarity with the Act and the related administrative rules. For purposes of the above exemption, "honorably retired" means that the applicant:

      (i) Did not retire in lieu of a disciplinary action;

      (ii) Was eligible to retire from the law enforcement agency or was ineligible to retire only as a result of an injury received in the course of the applicant's employment with the agency; and

      (iii) Is entitled to receive a pension or annuity for service as a law enforcement officer or is not entitled to receive a pension or annuity only because the law enforcement agency that employed the applicant does not offer a pension or annuity to its employees.

  (2) Level II may be taught by the manager, the manager's designee or a board approved school and board approved instructor using the most current version of the respective Board Level II Training Course manuals.

  (3) Level III and IV shall be taught by a board approved school and board approved instructor using the most current version of the respective Board Level III and IV manuals.

  (4) Training manuals for Levels II, III, and IV will be prepared by bureau staff and other qualified individuals selected by the manager.

  (5) The passing grade for all examinations shall be a minimum of 75% correct answers.

(b) Alarm Training Courses.

  (1) In accordance with the Act, the following training shall be required of an alarm systems installer and a security alarm salesperson:

    (A) Alarm Level I - All individuals employed as an alarm systems installer or a security alarm salesperson must hold a certification by a board approved training program to renew an initial registration. An original certificate indicating successful completion of an Alarm Level I training program shall be submitted to the board along with the proper application to renew an initial registration.

    (B) The passing grade for all Alarm Level I examinations shall be a minimum of 70% correct answers.

    (C) An Alarm Level I program shall be taught by a board approved alarm instructor.

  (2) A board approved alarm instructor may teach board approved continuing education courses.

(c) Previous training courses held for inactive or expired registrants. An inactive or expired registrant who has not worked in the investigation or security services industry for three years or more must submit current training certificate(s) to the board or subject to the approval of the manager.


Source Note: The provisions of this §35.251 adopted to be effective February 25, 2010, 35 TexReg 1482; amended to be effective November 13, 2011, 36 TexReg 7559

Next Page Previous Page



Home TxReg TAC OM NewTac Public Footer Bar