|(a) General. (1) Form of payment. Fees may be paid by cash, check, or other legal means acceptable to the General Land Office. Payment by means of electronic funds transfer may be required by Texas Government Code §404.095, §9.51 of this title (relating to Royalty and Reporting Obligations to the State), or by other chapters of this title. (2) Time for payment. Payment is generally required in advance of issuance of permits, leases and other documents and/or delivery of services and/or materials by the General Land Office. (3) Dishonor or nonpayment by other means. In the event a fee is not paid due to dishonor, nonpayment, or otherwise, the General Land Office shall have no further obligation to issue permits, leases and other documents and/or provide services and/or materials to the permittee, lessee, or applicant. (b) General Land Office fees. The commissioner is authorized and required to collect the following fees where applicable. (1) Cost of land title documents. (A) Preparation of each patent or deed of acquittance: $100. (B) Filing fee, original field notes: $25. (C) Filing fee, corrected field notes: no charge. (D) Filing fee, other instruments required by law to be filed with the General Land Office or accepted for filing by the General Land Office: $25 per instrument. (E) recording fee per document, per county: the greater of $25 or the actual amount charged by the county clerk. (2) Certificates of fact: (A) Narrative certificates of fact consisting of all data from the inception of chain of title to the date of perfection of title and mineral history in paragraph form, supplemental or limited certificates of fact (consisting of specific information or start date for history of a specific tract land): $100 per file. (B) Spanish documents: $75 per document. (3) Certified and non-certified classification letters: (A) Certified classification letter: $50 per file; (B) Non-certified classification letter: $10 per file. (4) Preparation of working sketch: $40 per hour ($60 minimum). (5) Duplication fees - archival records: For purposes of this section the term archival records is defined as records maintained in the Archives and Records Division of the Texas General Land Office. The Archives and Records Division reserves the right to deny duplication of any document or map considered too fragile or brittle to safely copy. In addition, the Archives and Records Division reserves the right to specify what method(s) of reproduction may be used. Archival records for all original records affecting land titles, including original land grant files, Spanish Collection materials, school land and scrap files and maps, sketches and plats: (A) Black and white photocopies and microfilm copies, per page: (i) 8.5 inch by 11 inch: $1.00; (ii) 8.5 inch by 14 inch: $1.00; (iii) 11 inch by 17 inch: $2.00. (B) Color photocopies, per page: (i) 8.5 inch by 11 inch: $2.00; (ii) 8.5 inch by 14 inch: $2.00; (iii) 11 inch by 17 inch: $3.00. (C) Patent or Deed of Acquittance, includes certification: $5.00. (D) Official county maps: $15 per map. (E) Sketches (large format digital copies); per linear foot: $2.00. (F) Digitally reproduced archival map collection on special printer paper. (i) 48 inches or less: $20 per map plus $8.00 shipping and handling; (ii) greater than 48 inches: $40 per map plus $8.00 shipping and handling. (G) Digitally reproduced archival map collection on CD-ROM/DVD-ROM. (i) cost of disk: CD: $11, DVD: $16 plus labor at $40 per hour (prorated at 15 minute intervals); (ii) cost per image: $10; (iii) digitization of unscanned map, sketch or file: $25. (6) Certification: (A) Individual instruments or maps: $2.00. (B) Contents of complete files, each file: $25. (C) Copy of official Spanish translations, each: $25. (7) Spanish translations: (A) Original translations: $.15 per word. (B) Copies of previously translated Spanish or Mexican titles: $2.00 per page. (8) Digital Transfer Fee, for the transfer of large files over the Internet by the use of a File Transfer Service: $16 per order. (9) Rush Fee: At General Land Office staff discretion, expedited preparation of photocopies, GIS products, maps and items scanned may be provided for a fee. Payment of the rush fee does not guarantee that requested services will be completed by a specific time. Payment of the rush fee will allow the rush order to be completed ahead of non-rush items: per order $50. (10) Digital mapping (GIS): (A) GIS maps printed on special printer paper: (i) Plotting standard products: (I) Small maps: Labor, paper and supplies: $15 per map; (II) 18 inch by 24 inch: Labor, paper and supplies: $20 per map; (III) 24 inch by 36 inch: Labor, paper and supplies: $25 per map; (IV) 36 inch by 48 inch: Labor, paper and supplies: $30 per map; (V) Large maps: Labor, paper and supplies: $40 per map. (ii) Plotting custom products: (I) Labor: $50 per hour (one hour minimum); (II) Paper and Supplies: $10 per map. (B) Digital GIS data placed on CD-ROM: Each CD: $11, DVD: $16 - plus labor at $40 per hour (prorated at 15 minute intervals). (11) Vacancies: (A) Application fee: $150. (B) Filing fee for original field notes: $25. (C) Affidavit Filing Fee: $25. (D) Each deed, title opinion, or other document needed to satisfy the commissioner of claimant's status. Filing fee for each document submitted as required: $25. (E) Petition For Disqualification of Surveyor costs associated including hearing, mailing copies, other expenses, non-refundable: $250. (F) Copying Fees, related to vacancy application only: (i) Black and white photocopies, per page: (I) 8.5 inch by 11 inch: $.10. (II) 8.5 inch by 14 inch: $.10. (III) 11 inch by 17 inch: $.25. (ii) Color photocopies, per page: (I) 8.5 inch by 11 inch: $.25. (II) 8.5 inch by 14 inch: $.25. (III) 11 inch by 17 inch: $.50. (iii) Sketches, plats and survey maps (larger than 11 inch by 17 inch): $2.00 per linear foot. (12) Appraisal fees. Appraisal fees are charged for appraisals required to be paid by the applicant for the purchase of excess acreage and vacancies: For each appraisal: $500. (13) Recorded media: (A) VHS videotape, each $10, other video formats $20 per 30 minutes, $30 per 60 minutes; (B) Audio cassettes, each: $7.50, audio transfer fee, $25 per hour, 1/2 hour minimum; (C) Video Transfer Fee, 1/2 hour - $25, 1/2 hour minimum; (D) Recorded media placed on CD/DVD: CD $11, DVD: $16 - plus labor at $40 per hour (prorated at 15 minute intervals); (E) Video/Audio encoding fee: 1/2 hour - $25, 1/2 hour minimum. (14) Records research, research of official records of the General Land Office, per hour $50 (minimum 1/2 hour). (A) Genealogy search, per name: $20. (B) Other research of official records, i.e., field notes, sketches, maps: per hour $50, minimum 1/2 hour. (15) Mailing fees: (A) Mailing tubes, each $3. (B) Handling and preparation for mailing, each item: $15 per package (optional). (C) Postage and handling: $15 per package. (D) Registered mail, each item: $11.50 or current United States Postal Service rate. (E) Certified mail, each item: $5.10 or current United States Postal Service rate plus current USPS rate for postage. (16) Publications: (A) Abstract volume (digital on CD): $11. (B) Abstract volume supplement (digital on CD): $11. (C) Spanish Collection Catalogue (Part I): $15. (D) Spanish Collection Catalogue (Part II): $15. (E) New Guide to Spanish and Mexican Land Grants in South Texas: $15. (17) Publication or Broadcast Fee (Image Use Fee): For use of a GLO archival image (map or document) in a book, magazine, motion picture, television broadcast, video, website, reproduction for resale, or other promotional advertising use: (A) Non-profit organizations, college or university presses, governmental entities, news media, private individuals: no charge. (B) For profit organizations: $50 per image per use. (18) Geophysical and geochemical exploration: (A) Non-Relinquishment Act lands: (i) permit application filing fee: $100. (ii) exploration and surface/bottom damage fees for unleased tracts in bays, other tideland areas, and the Gulf of Mexico. (I) high velocity energy sources: (-a-) $5.00 per acre in bays and other tideland areas; (-b-) $2.00 per acre in the Gulf of Mexico; (II) low velocity energy sources: (-a-) $2.50 per acre in bays and other tideland areas; (-b-) $1.00 per acre in the Gulf of Mexico; (III) other exploration techniques: negotiable; (iii) surface damage fees for unleased uplands: (I) vibroseis: $2.50 per acre; (II) high velocity energy sources: $5.00 per acre; (III) gravity meter and/or magnetometer: fair market value, but not less than $2.50 per acre; (iv) other exploration techniques: negotiable. (B) Relinquishment Act lands: (i) permit application filing fee: $100; (ii) all fees for actual surface damages to personal property, improvements, livestock, and crops on unleased Relinquishment Act lands, if any, are to be negotiated with the surface owner. Any fees in excess of those attributable to the types of surface damages listed in this paragraph must be shared equally with the state. (19) Miscellaneous services and fees: (A) In-kind contract maintenance fee. Processing and accounting for in-kind oil, gas, and other related product contracts, from purchaser of state-owned products unless deemed unnecessary by the Commissioner: per barrel delivered: $.05; per MMBTU delivered: $.03. (B) Relinquishment Act lease processing fee: $100. (C) highway right-of-way lease processing fee, including preparation of lease: $500. (D) pooling application processing fee, including preparation and filing of pooling agreements: $500. (E) oil, gas, and mineral lease application and filing fee, including processing, lease preparation, and filing of any oil, gas, or mineral lease not subject to other processing or nomination fees: $100. (F) tract nomination fee, oil, gas, or mineral sealed bid lease sale fee: $100. (G) prospect permit filing fee: $50. (H) insufficient check fee (for each check returned): $25.
|Source Note: The provisions of this §3.31 adopted to be effective January 24, 2002, 27 TexReg 479; amended to be effective September 10, 2002, 27 TexReg 8596; amended to be effective December 14, 2003, 28 TexReg 10947; amended to be effective May 9, 2004, 29 TexReg 4228; amended to be effective September 20, 2004, 29 TexReg 9011; amended to be effective November 27, 2005, 30 TexReg 7744; amended to be effective May 25, 2006, 31 TexReg 4221; amended to be effective December 24, 2006, 31 TexReg 10339; amended to be effective April 11, 2007, 32 TexReg 2011; amended to be effective March 30, 2011, 36 TexReg 1992; amended to be effective July 28, 2011, 36 TexReg 4667