|(a) A physician assistant licensed under the Act must, before beginning practice or upon changing practice, submit notification of the license holder's intent to begin practice. Notification under this section must include: (1) the name, business address, Texas physician assistant license number, and telephone number of the physician assistant; and (2) the name, business address, Texas medical license number, and telephone number of the supervising physician. (b) A physician assistant must submit notification of any changes in, or additions to, the person acting as a supervising physician for the physician assistant not later than the 30th day after the date the change or addition is made. (c) For the purposes of this section, a single form prescribed by the board shall be used to provide notification of the license holder's intent to begin practice or termination of, and any changes in, or additions to, the person acting as a supervising physician. (d) If a supervising physician will be unavailable to supervise the physician assistant as required by this section, arrangements shall be made for an alternate physician to provide that supervision. The alternate physician providing that supervision shall affirm in writing and document through a log where the physician assistant is located, that he or she is familiar with the protocols or standing delegation orders in use, and is accountable for adequately supervising care provided pursuant to those protocols or standing delegation orders. The log shall be kept with the protocols or standing orders. The log shall contain dates of the alternate physician supervision and be signed by the alternate physician acknowledging this responsibility. The physician assistant is responsible for verifying that the alternate physician is a licensed Texas physician holding an unrestricted and active license. Alternate physicians may not collectively provide supervision for more than a 30-day period. If the primary supervising physician cannot return to supervising the physician assistant after 30 days, a new primary supervising physician must provide supervision.
|Source Note: The provisions of this §185.13 adopted to be effective November 3, 2002, 27 TexReg 10027; amended to be effective June 29, 2006, 31 TexReg 5105; amended to be effective August 9, 2009, 34 TexReg 5133