<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 22EXAMINING BOARDS
PART 5STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS
CHAPTER 103DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE
RULE §103.7Retired License Status

(a) Application.

  (1) A holder of a valid and current Texas dental hygiene license may apply to the Board to have the license placed on retired status.

  (2) A licensee must apply to the Board for retired status, on a form prescribed by the Board, before the expiration date of the person's Texas license.

  (3) The Board shall deny a request to place a license on retired status if there are any current or pending complaints or disciplinary actions against the license holder.

(b) Reinstatement. The Board may reinstate a retired Texas dental hygiene license to active status, provided the license holder submits an application for reinstatement on a form prescribed by the Board, pays the appropriate fees due at the time application is made, and meets the requirements of this subsection.

  (1) A license holder who, at the time of application for reinstatement, is practicing dental hygiene in another state, or territory outside of the United States, or had practiced dental hygiene actively within the two years immediately preceding the date of application, shall provide:

    (A) verification of licensure and disciplinary history from all state board(s) of dentistry where the licensee has held a license;

    (B) proof of active practice within the two years preceding the application;

    (C) proof that the licensee has taken and passed the Texas jurisprudence assessment administered by the Board or an entity designated by the Board within one year immediately prior to application;

    (D) proof of successful completion of a current course in basic life support;

    (E) proof of completion of 12 hours of continuing education, taken within the 12 months preceding the date the application is received by the Board. All hours shall be taken in accordance with the requirements for continuing education as mandated by Chapter 104 of this title (relating to Continuing Education); and

    (F) proof of submission of fingerprints for the retrieval of criminal history record information.

  (2) A license holder who has not actively practiced for at least two years immediately preceding the request for reinstatement of a retired license shall provide:

    (A) verification of licensure and disciplinary history from all state board(s) of dentistry where the licensee has held a license;

    (B) proof that the licensee has taken and passed the Texas jurisprudence assessment administered by the Board or an entity designated by the Board within one year immediately prior to application;

    (C) proof of successful completion of a current course in basic life support;

    (D) proof of completion of 24 hours of continuing education, of which a minimum of 12 hours must be clinical (hands-on). All hours must have been taken within the 12 months preceding the date the application is received by the Board and shall be taken in accordance with the requirements for continuing education as mandated by Chapter 104 of this title; and

    (E) proof of submission of fingerprints for the retrieval of criminal history record information.

  (3) A license holder who applies to reenter active practice must comply with all other applicable provisions of the Dental Practice Act and Board rules.

  (4) A license holder who applies to reenter active practice must have been in compliance or satisfied all conditions of any Board order that may have been in effect at the time retired status was granted.

  (5) The Board may, in its discretion as necessary to safeguard public health and safety, require compliance with other reasonable conditions in considering a request to reenter active practice.


Source Note: The provisions of this §103.7 adopted to be effective February 23, 2006, 31 TexReg 1034; amended to be effective February 24, 2008, 33 TexReg 1546; amended to be effective October 7, 2009, 34 TexReg 6852; amended to be effective May 29, 2013, 38 TexReg 3345

Next Page Previous Page



Home TxReg TAC OM NewTac Public Footer Bar