|(a) Authorizing Statute. The waiver program for individuals
attending certain institutions located within 100 miles of the Texas
border is authorized through Texas Education Code, §54.0601,
"Nonresident Tuition Rates at Certain Institutions."
(b) Eligible Persons. Any nonresident person attending
an eligible institution may receive a waiver under this section.
(c) Eligible Institutions. An eligible person may use
this waiver at any general academic teaching institution located within
100 miles of the boundary of Texas with another state if the governing
board of the institution approves the tuition rate as being in the
best interest of the institution and the Commissioner finds that such
a rate will not cause unreasonable harm to any other institution
(d) Adjusted Tuition Rate. An eligible person shall
pay a tuition rate set by the institution, but not less than $30 more
than the resident tuition rate.