<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 16ECONOMIC REGULATION
PART 1RAILROAD COMMISSION OF TEXAS
CHAPTER 9LP-GAS SAFETY RULES
SUBCHAPTER AGENERAL REQUIREMENTS
RULE §9.6Licenses and Fees

(a) A prospective licensee may apply to LP-Gas Operations, for one or more licenses specified in subsection (c)(1) - (16) of this section. Fees required to be paid shall be those established by the Commission and in effect at the time of licensing or renewal.

(b) An original manufacturer of a new motor vehicle powered by LP-gas, or a subcontractor of a manufacturer who produces a new LP-gas powered motor vehicle for the manufacturer, is not subject to the licensing requirements of this title, but shall comply with all other LP-Gas Safety Rules.

(c) The license categories and fees are as follows.

  (1) A Category A license for container manufacturers and/or fabricators authorizes the manufacture, fabrication, assembly, repair, installation, subframing, testing, and sale of LP-gas containers, including LP-gas motor or mobile fuel containers and systems, and the repair and installation of transport and transfer systems. The original license fee is $1,000; the renewal fee is $600.

  (2) A Category B license for transport outfitters authorizes the subframing, testing, and sale of LP-gas transport containers, the testing of LP-gas storage containers, the installation, testing, and sale of LP-gas motor or mobile fuel containers and systems, and the installation and repair of transport systems and motor or mobile fuel systems. The original license fee is $400; the renewal fee is $200.

  (3) A Category C license for carriers authorizes the transportation of LP-gas by transport, including the loading and unloading of LP-gas, and the installation and repair of transport systems. The original license fee is $1,000; the renewal fee is $300.

  (4) A Category D license for general installers and repairmen authorizes the sale, service, and installation of containers, excluding motor fuel containers, and the service, installation, and repair of piping, certain appliances as defined by rule, excluding recreational vehicle appliances and LP-gas systems, and motor fuel and recreational vehicle systems. The service and repair of an LP-gas appliance not required by the manufacturer to be vented to the atmosphere is exempt from Category D licensing. The installation of these unvented appliances to LP-gas systems by means of LP-gas appliance connectors is also exempt from Category D licensing. The original license fee is $100; the renewal fee is $70. Additionally, master or journeyman plumbers who are licensed by the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners or persons who are licensed with a Class A or B Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors License issued by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation may register with AFRED as described in §9.13 of this title (relating to General Installers and Repairman Exemption). The initial registration fee is $50; the registration renewal fee is $20.

  (5) A Category E license for retail and wholesale dealers authorizes the storage, sale, transportation, and distribution of LP-gas at retail and wholesale dealers, and all other activities included in this section, except the manufacture, fabrication, assembly, repair, subframing, and testing of LP-gas containers, and except the sale and installation of LP-gas motor or mobile fuel systems that service an engine with a rating of more than 25 horsepower. The original license fee is $750; the renewal is $300.

  (6) A Category F license for cylinder filling authorizes the operation of a cylinder filling facility, including cylinder filling, the sale of LP-gas in cylinders, and the replacement of cylinder valves. The original license fee is $100; the renewal fee is $50.

  (7) A Category G license for dispensing stations authorizes the operation of LP-gas dispensing stations filling ASME containers designed for motor or mobile fuel. The original license fee is $100; the renewal is $50.

  (8) A Category H license for cylinder dealers authorizes the transportation and sale of LP-gas in cylinders. The original license fee is $1,000; the renewal is $300.

  (9) A Category I license for service stations and cylinder filling authorizes any service station and cylinder activity set out in Category F and Category G of this section. The original license fee is $150; the renewal is $70.

  (10) A Category J license for service stations and cylinder facilities authorizes the operation of a cylinder filling facility, including cylinder filling and the sale, transportation, installation, and connection of LP-gas in cylinders, the replacement of cylinder valves, and the operation of an LP-gas service station as set out in Category G. The original license fee is $1,000; the renewal is $300.

  (11) A Category K license for distribution systems authorizes the sale and distribution of LP-gas through mains or pipes, and the installation and repair of LP-gas systems. The original license fee is $1,000; the renewal is $300.

  (12) A Category L license for engine fuel authorizes the sale and installation of LP-gas motor or mobile fuel containers, and the sale and installation of LP-gas motor or mobile fuel systems. The original license fee is $100; the renewal is $50.

  (13) A Category M license for recreational vehicle installers and repairmen authorizes the sale, service, and installation of recreational vehicle containers, and the installation, repair, and service of recreational vehicle appliances, piping, and LP-gas systems, including recreational vehicle motor or mobile fuel systems and containers. The original license fee is $100; the renewal is $70.

  (14) A Category N license for manufactured housing installers and repairmen authorizes the service and installation of containers that supply fuel to manufactured housing, and the installation, repair, and service of appliances and piping systems for manufactured housing. The original license fee is $100; the renewal is $70.

  (15) A Category O license for testing laboratories authorizes the testing of LP-gas containers, LP-gas motor fuel systems or mobile fuel systems, transfer systems, and transport systems for the purpose of determining the safety of the containers or systems for LP-gas service, including the necessary installation, disconnection, reconnection, testing, and repair of LP-gas motor fuel systems or mobile fuel systems, transfer systems, and transport systems involved in the testing of containers. The original license fee is $400; the renewal is $100.

  (16) A Category P license for portable cylinder exchange authorizes the operation of a portable cylinder exchange service, where the sale of LP-gas is within a portable cylinder with an LP-gas capacity not to exceed 21 pounds, where the portable cylinders are not filled on site, and where no other LP-gas activity requiring a license is conducted. The original license fee is $100; the renewal fee is $50.


Source Note: The provisions of this §9.6 adopted to be effective February 1, 2001, 26 TexReg 947; amended to be effective September 1, 2005, 30 TexReg 4810; amended to be effective December 24, 2012, 37 TexReg 9913

Next Page Previous Page



Home TxReg TAC OM NewTac Public Footer Bar